Texas License To Carry (LTC) A Handgun Program
Applicants should first check their eligibility before registering for this program.
Texas License To Carry (LTC) A Handgun Class
LTC Classroom Training (4-6 Hours)
The class includes:
- Laws that relate to weapons and to the use of deadly force.
- Handgun use and safety, including use of restraint holsters and methods to ensure the secure carrying of openly carried handguns.
- Non-violent dispute resolution.
- Proper storage practices for handgun with an emphasis on storage practices that eliminate the possibility of accidental injury to a child.
The instructor has the option to provide additional information to the class (i.e, film clips, or DVD's related to the above mentioned subject).
At the end of the class room training the applicant must take and pass a written exam. The minimum passing score is 70%.
NO HANDGUNS OR LIVE AMMUNITION PERMITTED DURING CLASSROOM TRAINING.
The applicant is required to bring their Driver's License, a notepad, two pens (black ink), a highlighter, and pencils with erasers.
LTC Shooting Proficiency Demonstration
The applicant is required to shoot 50 shots with a handgun (minimum .32 caliber) using a (standard B-27) silhouette target. The course of fire will be 20 shots at 3 yards, 20 shots at 7 yards and 10 shots at 15 yards. The instructor will advise the shooter as to the number of rounds to load and the number of rounds to be fired (at different stages) at each distance.
Texas License To Carry A Handgun Application And Fingerprints
Texas Department of Public Safety (Regulatory Services Division) Application:
LTC Application and Fingerprints ARE NOT part of the LTC Class. The Instructor cannot contact the DPS (RSD) to assist you. All information sent by you to DPS (RSD) is confidential.
Before starting the application process have the following information ready:
- Social Security Number
- Valid Driver's License
- Valid Credit Card
Gather personal information to be used for your application:
- If living at your current address for less than five years (your address history).
- If at your current job for less than five years (your job history).
- If you have ever been arrested (your arrest history).
- If confined to a hospital or treatment center (your treatment history).
- The applicant is required to file his/or her
application with the Texas Department of
Public Safety (RSD) in Austin.
- Texas State Fees may vary depending on information you enter during the online application process. The Standard Texas State Fee for a new applicant is $140.00 USD for a 4 year license. However, state fees can change without notice.
- State discounts are available for certain individuals, including seniors and veterans. For more information regarding state discounts CLICK HERE. Remember to Print your Receipt after completing the online application.
- After you complete your application, set up your electronic fingerprint appointment with Morpho Trust CLICK HERE (1-888-467-2080). Various locations are provided for fingerprints. The fee for fingerprints is about $9.95 USD.
Remember to: Print your Appointment Information and your Receipt.
Disclaimer: Texas Open Carry Association LLC, is not responsible for changes or modifications made by DPS (RSD) or Morpho Trust to their websites that may be different from the information presented above.